The 2019 Class of The Captains Circle Chosen

The ballots are in, and the voters have spoken! The 2019 Class of the University of Tennessee Rugby Captain’s Circle has been selected, with six Old Boys spanning three decades of UT Rugby earning the right to join the elite club.

This year’s inductees include:

Rob Farley (1982 – ’85)
Kevin Hartley (2003 – ’08)
Tyler Huskey (1990 – ’94)
Scott Jones (1997 – ’01)
Dr. John Shaw (1982 – ’87)
Mike McIntyre (1980 – ’84).

The formal induction ceremonies will be held during the 2019 Volunteer Rugby Foundation Gala, Saturday, March 27th, at the Knoxville Convention Center.

Nominations – open to all UT Old Boys – were held from November thru January 31st. From that list, the Captain’s Circle Committee voted to determine the eight finalists, and then Committee members and all sitting members of the Captain’s Circle voted to determine this year’s class. The top 75% vote earners from the list of finalists were selected.

For over two decades, UT Rugby has employed a pre-game ritual of gathering in a circle around the captain for last-minute strategy and motivation. The real importance in this formation, however, is what it represents: the unbroken unit – a circle of brotherhood – that refuses to break and endures all.

In that tradition, the UT Rugby Captain’s Circle has been established to honor those individuals whose contributions on and/or off the field have uniquely propelled the never-ending brotherhood of University of Tennessee Rugby forward, enabling the program to exemplify the apical standards of goal-oriented achievement, while developing young men of character and integrity.

As the highest honor that the Volunteer Rugby Foundation can bestow, selection to the Captain’s Circle signifies that a player or contributor’s contributions to UT Rugby are deemed invaluable and will forever remain foundational to the success of the club’s history.

Leave a Reply